Excellent article on disability with statistics in relation to pension

vinceogrady

The truth about Disability in Australia

Vince O’Grady discusses the disability crisis that Social Security Minister Kevin Andrews has raised and tells the truth about what is and is not sustainable, and what is the truth about Disability and Disability Support.

Disclosure

Before I begin to write this piece I must disclose an abiding interest in it. I have a profound disability.

My disability is Arthritis. This is my 33rd year of having the infirmity. My condition is known as Ankylosing Spondylitis. I also have complications caused by Psoriasis and also Psoriatic Arthritis.

So I have a bad back and neck (extra growth of bone in the spine and associated pain) and the Psoriatic arthritis affects my knees, hands, feet, ankles, shoulders and pretty much the rest of me.

I can also attest to the fact that it is very painful. However, one does learn to live with pain.

View original post 2,422 more words

